International Management Trust Services
Map of Dominica
Flag of Dominica


The currency used in Dominica is the Eastern Caribbean Dollar, a common currency issued by The Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) to all eight members of the ECCU, which has been pegged to the US Dollar at the rate of USD1= XCD 2.7169 since 1977, providing certainty and stability in exchange transactions.

Predominantly English; French and local patois (Creole English/French) are also spoken.

Legal System
Based on British Common Law - ultimate right of Appeal to the Privy Council in London

Dominica’s main exports are agricultural, which include coffee, cocoa, bananas, citrus fruits and tropical fruits. Manufactured products which it exports are rum, timber and soap and tourism remains an important driver of the economy, along with agriculture.

Dominica is populated with 70,000 people, with 20,000 of those inhabiting the capital city Roseau and the other major city being Portsmouth. With a vibrant entwinement of European and African cultures, Dominica is home to the Caribbean’s only remaining population of pre-Columbian Carib Indians. The official language of Dominica is English while the most dominant religion is Roman Catholicism.

A 15% VAT is levied on food, drinks and merchandise. There is also a 10% room tax on hotel and other chargeable short-term guest accommodations.

CARICOM & other international memberships
Dominica is a member of Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and the Commonwealth of Nations. CARICOM is an international organisation which consists of 15 member states all of whom are based in the Caribbean. CARICOM works to promote economic co-operation and integration in the region The secretariat headquarters is based in Georgetown, Guyana.

The Commonwealth of Nations is a voluntary organisation of 53 countries which share no legal commitment to each other but have a common goal of enhancing the “development of free and democratic societies” and “promoting peace and prosperity to improve the lives of all peoples of the Commonwealth.” (See more at: There are many benefits to Commonwealth members such as easier travel between Member Countries, protection of all Members by other embassies and commissions around the world and eligibility for certain sporting activities (the Commonwealth Games).

Dominica is also a member of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB), the United Nations, the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank and the Organization of American States (OAS). The country maintains missions in Washington, New York, London, and Brussels and is represented jointly with other Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) members in Canada.

About Dominica
Dominica (pronounced "Dom-in-eek-a") is an island of volcanic origins located between the French islands of Guadeloupe and Martinique in the Eastern Caribbean, at approximately 15 degrees North latitude and 61 degrees West longitude.

Dominica is famous for its tropical rainforest, and the many rivers and waterfalls which result from the high rainfall in the interior. In addition, its volcanic origins manifest themselves most noticeably in the Boiling Lake (one of the largest of its kind in the world) and many other smaller fumaroles around the island (including at least one underwater).

Moreover, it is widely acknowledged to be both one of the best dive sites and a prime whale watching location in the region (if not world).It has several peaks of over 3,000', the tallest of which are Morne Diablotin (4,747') and Morne Trois Pitons (4,600').

English is the official language but a French-based Creole (kwéyòl) is widely spoken, especially in outlying villages. This reflects an often turbulent history in which the island would be assigned to Britain by a treaty with the French, who would promptly break it and try to regain control of Dominica. Throughout and to the present day the original inhabitants, the Caribs, tried to coexist.

In 1903 they were assigned a 3,700 acre Territory in the north-east where around 3,000 live today.

The original Carib name for Dominica is Waitikubuli, meaning 'tall is her body' and many of the villages still retain (or at least are still known by) their Carib name.

The currency is the Eastern Caribbean Dollar (of which there are 2.7169 to the US$). Office/Shop hours are 8am to 4pm; Banking hours are Monday to Friday, 8am to 2pm (Friday till 5pm).